Dubai — known as the city of superlatives with the world’s tallest tower among its many records — now has the deepest swimming pool on the planet complete with a “sunken city” for divers to explore.

Deep Dive Dubai, which opened earlier this month but initially by invitation only, prides itself as “the only diving facility in the world” where you can go down 60 metres, 15 metres deeper than any other pool, as confirmed to AFP by Guinness World Records.

It contains 14.6 million litres of freshwater, a volume equivalent to six Olympic-size swimming pools. Guided down by lights and ambient music, divers can play table football and other games at the bottom as well as explore an “abandoned sunken city” or just soak up the vegetation on the way.

deep dive dubai
A diver experiences Deep Dive Dubai, the deepest swimming pool in the world reaching 60m, in the United Arab Emirates. Image: Giuseppe Cacace/ AFP

The pool is equipped with more than 50 cameras, for entertainment and safety purposes. A one-hour dive costs between US$135 and US$410 (Rs 10,057 and Rs 30,542), with Deep Dive vowing that it will open to the general public soon.

The oyster-shaped structure pays tribute to the pearl-diving tradition of the United Arab Emirates, of which Dubai is a member, explained Deep Dive Dubai’s director Jarrod Jablonski, an expat from Florida in the United States.

Deep Dive Dubai
This is “the only diving facility in the world” where you can go down 60 metres — 15 metres deeper than any other pool. Image: Deep Dive Dubai

Dubai, which from October hosts the delayed Expo 2020, reopened to tourists in July of last year and has organised one of the world’s fastest vaccination campaigns against Covid-19.

More details here.

This article was published via AFP Relaxnews.

Hero image: Courtesy Deep Dive Dubai; Featured image: Courtesy Giuseppe Cacace/ AFP

Lifestyle Asia
Here's where you can read the latest news and stories from Lifestyle Asia and our sister titles PrestigeOnline and Augustman, curated from all of our editions in Hong Kong, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok and India.