Would you be able to use Whatsapp at all?
May 15th is D-Day for the platform and its undecided users. WhatsApp recently came forward to well, drop a gentle reminder about this and stated ‘we hope you reconsider’, hinting at accepting the new clauses. They also stated what would happen if you turn down their offer. So here it is. In case you’re wondering, no, your profile and account will not be deleted on May 15. It will remain active. However, the term ‘active’ is rather vague in this matter. You won’t be able to send or receive messages or calls, however, you will constantly receive notifications about the same. However, this will only be the case for a short duration.
Usually, WhatsApp deletes accounts after 120 days of inactivity, we could expect a similar tenure. The main debate in this matter is how Facebook will be handling our information and how transparent it may be to advertisers. If you choose to export your user data from the app, you currently can but deleting your account before the policy switch can cause you to lose all cloud data and is irreversible, WhatsApp stated. This will also have you removed from all group chats you’ve been a part of.
In our opinion, WhatsApp believes their policies have been misunderstood severely by users and it’s causing quite a media stir for themselves. We’d advise reading their official FAQs regarding the came so you’d find more clarity regarding the usage of the app and choose wisely. Evidently, staying on WhatsApp without accepting the new policy seems almost pointless, why would you want a buzz but no message? WhatsApp also stated that you can change your mind post-May 15th as well.
(All images: Courtesy Getty Images)
This article first appeared on Lifestyle Asia India.