Home > Style > Fashion > 10 red carpet looks we love from the Golden Globe Awards 2018
10 red carpet looks we love from the Golden Globe Awards 2018

The trophies are gold and the carpet is still red. But this year’s Golden Globe Awards took a dark turn when stars showed up in black tux and gowns. Instead of bold fashion statements, the leading ladies of Hollywood collectively made the sartorial protest in solidarity with sexual harassment victims.

Yes, there were few celebrities who didn’t get the memo to shun colours during the 75th Golden Globe Awards in 2018. But stars like Oprah Winfrey and Meryl Streep eclipsed them, championing #MeToo and Time’s Up campaigns on the red carpet. Actresses Emma Watson, Michelle Williams, and Laura Dern even brought women activists as their dates.

Just because the spotlight focused on the industry’s gender balance doesn’t mean style has been completely compromised this year. From the fashion perspective, it was quite refreshing to see an emphasis on silhouettes, trims, and intricate details of couture gowns.

It’s no wonder all eyes were on Kendall Jenner. As Moët & Chandon’s guest, the Keeping Up with the Kardashians star strutted down in an incredible Giambattista Valli gown. It had multiple mesh layers, making the all-black dress code more interesting. We’re also head over heels about Tracee Ellis Ross’ fashion choice, covering her hair in a black turban to match a Marc Jacobs bowed gown.

From Angelina Jolie’s unusual feather-detailed dress to Kate Hudson’s sheer gown, here are our 10 favourite looks from the 75th Annual Golden Globe Awards. Clearly, the all-black dress code didn’t disappoint.

1

Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) made a splash in her debut at the Golden Globes Awards ceremony in a strapless Giambattista Valli tulle dress with a dramatic train. (Image from Shutterstock)

2

Jessica Biel (@jessicabiel) showed us the best of classic dressing, owning a strapless black tulle gown from Dior Haute Couture. (Image from Shutterstock)

3

We’re loving the bold pop of colour — a red belt — around the caped Rosie Assoulin halter neck gown on This is Us actress Mandy Moore (@mandymoore). (Image from Shutterstock)

4

Tracee Ellis Ross (@traceeellisross), a founding member of the Times Up movement, showed off her quirky brand of glam, wearing a Marc Jacobs (@marcjacobs) gown and turban. (Image from Shutterstock)

5

British actress Catherine Zeta Jones (@catherinezetajones) turned heads in a lacey Zuhair Murad (@zuhairmuradofficial) couture gown, which accentuated her voluptuous figure. (Image from Shutterstock)

6

An effortlessly chic Kerry Washington showed up at the Golden Globes 2018 red carpet draped in a shimmering Prabal Gurung (@prabalgurung) dress with thigh-high side slits.

7

Diane Kruger (@dianekreuger) matched her detailed Prada dress, lined in silver trinkets, with Fred Leighton jewellery and a Judith Leiber clutch to the 75th Annual Golden Globe Awards. (Image from Shutterstock)

8

Angelina Jolie won praises from style critics with the enormous bell sleeves of her Atelier Versace (@versace_official) gown. (Image from Shutterstock)

9

Kate Hudson (@katehudson)’s new crop perfectly matches this sheer Valentino dress. (Image from Shutterstock)

10

We’re getting classy vibes from Tomb Raider star Alicia Vikander (@aliciavikanderdaily), who showed up in a black Victorian-influenced dress from Louis Vuitton. (Image from Shutterstock)