Home > What's On > All the latest updates on Malaysia’s progress at the Indonesia Masters 2022
All the latest updates on Malaysia’s progress at the Indonesia Masters 2022

The 2022 Indonesia Masters returns from 7 to 12 June 2022. Taking place at the Istora Gelora Bung Karno, Jakarta, the badminton tournament, held since 2010, will feature our prestigious Malaysian players fighting for the championship title.

The 2022 BWF World Tour is hosting its 12th edition of the Indonesia Masters. Happening over six days and featuring 447 players, the tournament includes our top-ranked player Lee Zii Jia competing in the Men’s Singles and Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik in the Men’s Doubles. As for the Women’s Doubles, Pearly Tan and Thinaah Muralitharan will grace the court, among many other Malaysian athletes.

As quoted by the Olympics, “Lee is seeded fifth at the Super 500 Indonesia Masters, behind the likes of Danish players Viktor Axelsen and Anders Antonsen, Taiwanese player Chou Tien Chen and Indonesian player Anthony Sinisuka Ginting.

The men’s world No. 5 Lee Zii Jia won two titles in 2022: Asian Championships and Thailand Open. Lee is set to play in five tournaments in the duration of six weeks: The Indonesia Masters 2022 (7 – 12 June), the Indonesian Open (14 – 19 June), Malaysia Open (29 June 0 3 July), Malaysia Masters (5 – 10 July) and the Singapore Open (12 – 17 July). For live updates on Lee’s progress, head over to this website.

Bookmark this page and stay tuned for more updates.

A list of Malaysian athletes competing in the Indonesia Masters 2022:

Where you can watch the tournament:

Catch our Malaysian athletes live in action on Astro’s subscription channels and on Youtube via BWF TV.

What you need to know about Malaysia’s progress in the Indonesia Masters 2022:

7 June 2022


Soong Joo Ven defeated Kartikey Kumar 21-16 9-21 21-14; Choong Hon Jian-Peck Yen Wei defeated William Villeger-Anne Tran 22-20 21-18; Liang Wei Keng-Wang Chang defeated Arif Junaidi-Haikal Nazri 21-15 21-16; Soong Joo Ven defeated Ade Dwicahyo 21-15 21-11; Tan Kian Meng-Tan Wee Kiong defeated Berry Angriawan-Rian Saputro 21-10 21-11; Vivian Hoo-Lim Chiew Sien defeated Julie Finne Ipsen-Mai Surrow 21-17 21-7.

Yong Kai-Loh Kean Hean defeated Azryin Ayub-Lim Khim Wah 14-21 21-15 21-17; Baek Ha Na-Lee Yu Lim defeated Anna Cheong-Teoh Mei Xing 21-14 21-13 ; Fajar Alfian-Rian Ardianto defeated Goh V Shem-Low Juan Shen 21-14 21-17; Goh Sze Fei-Nur Izzuddin defeated Alexander Dunn-Adam Hall 21-9 21-14; Pearly Tan-Thinaah M. defeated Margot Lambert-Anne Tran 21-13 21-18.

8 June

Arlya Munggaran-Agnia Rahayu defeated Low Yeen Yuan-Valeree Siow 21-18 21-16; Liu Yu Chen-Ou Xuan Yi defeated Ong Yew Sin-Teo Ee Yi 21-15 21-19; Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik defeated Tan Kian Meng-Tan Wee Kiong 21-11 21-19; Lu Guang Zu defeated Liew Daren 21-16 23-21; Mathias Christiansen-Alexandra Bøje defeated Choong Hon Jian-Peck Yen Wei 21-13 11-21 21-19; Hoo Pang Ron-Toh Ee Wei defeated Chang Tak Ching-Ng Wing Yung 21-19 21-13; Supak Jomkoh-Supissara Paewsampran defeated Goh Soon Huat-Shevon Lai 21-17 21-16.

Chou Tien Chen defeated Soong Joo Ven 21-15 22-20; Lee Zii Jia defeated Kantaphon Wangcharoen 21-16 21-12; Rinov Rivaldy-Pitha Mentari defeated Chen Tang Jie-Valeree Siow 21-17 21-7; Hiroki Midorikawa-Natsu Saito defeated Tan Kian Meng-Lai Pei Jing 8-21 21-19 21-17; Chan Peng Soon-Cheah Yee See defeated Soong Joo Ven-Goh Liu Ying 21-17 21-10.

9 June

Tang Chun Man-Tse Ying Suet defeated Hoo Pang Ron-Toh Ee Wei 20-22 21-5 21-15; Pearly Tan-Thinaah M. defeated Baek Ha Na-Lee Yu Lim 21-23 21-17 21-15; Lee Zii Jia defeated Mark Caljouw 21-17 21-14; Apriyani Rahayu-Fadia Ramadhanti defeated Vivian Hoo-Lim Chiew Sien 21-17 21-19; Goh Sze Fei-Nur Izzuddin defeated Sabar Gutama-Reza Isfahani 23-21 17-21 21-9; Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik defeated Leo Carnando-Daniel Marthin 27-25 21-14.


10 June

In the Men’s singles, top-ranked player Lee Zii Jia made it into the quarter-finals after defeating Dutch player Mark Caljouw with a 21-17 21-14. Lee will challenge against Indonesian player Anthony Sinisuka Ginting.

As for the Men’s doubles, duo players Goh Sze Fei and Nur Izzuddin made it through by defeating Indonesian players Sabar Gutama and Reza Isfahani with a 23-21 17-21 21-9. The Malaysian players will contend with Indonesian players Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo in the quarter-finals.

Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik defeated Indonesian players Leo Carnando and Daniel Marthin with a 27-25 21-14 and will play against Chinese players Liang Wei Keng and Wang Chang.

For the Women’s doubles, Pearly Tan and Thinaah Muralitharan defeated Korean players Baek Ha Na and Lee Yu Lim with a 21-23 21-17 21-15. In the quarter-finals, they will go head-to-head with Thai players Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai.

Quarter-final results:

Pearly Tan-Thinaah M. defeated Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai 21-11 21-16. Anthony Ginting defeated Lee Zii Jia 18-21 21-16 21-15. Liang Wei Keng-Wang Chang defeated Aaron Chia- Soh Wooi Yik 16-21 21-13 21-17; Marcus Gideon-Kevin Sukamuljo defeated Goh Sze Fei-Nur Izzuddin 10-21 21-11 21-18.

11 June

Women’s double duo Pearly Tan and Thinaah M finished strong by advancing to the semi-finals. However, their journey ended after losing to Indonesian players Apriyani Rahayu and Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti 21-23 21-14 21-14.


Hero & Featured image credit: Olympics


Amalina Anuar

Senior Writer

A writer by day and spin instructor by night. Amalina fuels her day with anything that’s covered in chocolate and breaking a sweat in the spin studio. With fashion and music as inspiration, you can find her obsessing over her favourite artist's music videos or swaying to funky tunes at live gigs.

Sign up for our newsletters to have the latest stories delivered straight to your inbox every week.

Yes, I agree to the Privacy Policy

Never miss an update

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest updates.

No Thanks
You’re all set

Thank you for your subscription.