Every year, the entire watch industry unite to celebrate the achievements and innovations that they’ve laboured over the past year. This year, the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Geneve (GPHG)’s theme of honouring the past to encourage the future is a poignant one, and is a chance to look back at how far timekeeping has come over the centuries.

Now in it’s 19th edition, the GPHG Foundation isn’t stranger to choosing the best the year has to offer. 84 contestants were chosen by a jury of 30 in a secret balloting to choose winners for 14 categories. This year, four special awards were also handed out, alongside a Special Jury Prize that was awarded to Luc Pettavino, the founder of the Only Watch auction. 

Here, we look at some of the most notable winners this year.